Museums and Visitor Centers Waterford
Waterford Crystal invites visitors to tour their world famous factory and see at first hand the skill of the master cutters and glass blowers as they exercise their centuries-old art.
The Visitor Center also offers an audio - visual presentation, a restaurant and a gallery where the finest pieces and crystal are on show and for sale
The Bishop’s Palace charts the history of Waterford from 1700 to 1970 and gives a wonderful insight into the history of what was up to the 1750s, Ireland’s second city. Waterford city boasts the finest collection of 18th century architecture of any city in Ireland outside of Dublin and its great legacy from the period is its elegant silverware and, of course, fine glassmaking. Visitors to the Bishop’s Palace will see the oldest piece of Waterford Crystal in the world - a decanter made in the 1780’s.
Waterford Medieval Museum
Situated between Cathedral Square and the Bishop's Palace, Waterford's latest museum is a tribute to Medieval Waterford and life in the city during that period. Carefully preserving several medieval structures within its walls, the Museum was opened to the public on Friday 24th August 2012. Why not come and experience the wonder of our medieval city.
Copper Coast European Geopark
The Copper Coast European Geopark is located on the South East coast of
Ireland, between Tramore and Dungarvan in County Waterford. It extends
between Fenor in the east to Stradbally in the west and up to Dunhill in the north.
The Copper Coast gets its name from the 19th Century copper mines that lie
at its heart.
It comprises some 25 kilometres of spectacular coastline consisting of
scalloped beaches and coves buttressed and enclosed by rocky headlands.
Waterford & Suir Valley Railway
The Waterford & Suir Valley Railway is a community heritage project. Our narrow gauge railway runs along 12 kilometres of the abandoned Waterford - Dungarvan line.
At our train station, located just outside the village of Kilmeaden, a restored railway carriage serves as the ticket office and shop. Light refreshments are available with seating for 20 persons. All facilities are wheelchair accessible.
Waterford Municipal Art Gallery
Built in the early 19th century, this late Victorian church built in gothic revival style was home to the Waterford Methodists until 1973. It was bought by Waterford City Council in 1989 and is the permanent home for the Municipal Art Collection "A Gem Among Municipal Collections", over 200 paintings by Irish and International artists, including pieces from renowned Irish artists such as Jack B Yeats, Paul Henry, Charles Lamb and Louis Le Brocquy.
Opening Hours Open weekends for summer season and for exhibitions.
Greyfriars, Waterford City, Waterford
Tel: +353 (0)51 860 856, also Arts Office: (051) 873501